Frozen Lemons and Limes

9 Apr

Lemons are indispensable in the kitchen, but rarely do I ever use a whole lemon at once.  Usually, I use half a lemon for lemonade, a wedge in water or a pinch to lighten a scar.  After that, I put the remaining lemon in my fridge and about a week later, I find a puckered up lemon wedge.  I was happy to discover these ideas to priserve my lemons (and limes).  

*  *  *

Q: What do you call a famous lime?
A: Limelight.

*  *  *

Ingredients: 
  • lemons
  • limes
Assembly:
Option 1: frozen wedges, substitute ice cubes for frozen wedges in mixed drinks.
  1. Chop lemons and limes into slices.
  2. Lay on flat surface.
  3. Put in freezer for a few hours.
  4. Once solid, store in tupperware or ziplock bag.
Option 2: ice cubes, use for lemonade or add a cube in your water or mixed drink.
  1. Juice lemons and limes.
  2. Pour juice into each slot of the ice cube tray, filling only 3/4 of the way.  Fill remaining slot with water.
  3. Freeze.

*  *  *

cheers!
Pri

*  *  *

option 1, step 1

option 1, step 2

option 1: final product

option 1, step 4

option 2, step 1

option 2, step 2

option 2, step 2

One Response to “Frozen Lemons and Limes”

  1. Bhumi April 23, 2012 at 1:23 pm #

    I LOVE this idea- I freeze a lot of liquid into cubes but I would love to drop a lemon cube into water. So refreshing 🙂

Leave a Reply

