Mashed Black Beans

8 Mar

It’s fairly easy to find mashed pinto beans but the same cannot be said for mashed black beans.  Because black beans are so much healthier than pinto beans, I decided to make my own mashed black bean recipe.  Occasionally, during the beginning of a work week, I make these mashed black beans and keep them in my fridge.  When I have a late night at work, I come home and within five minutes, I make myself a delicious quesadilla using the beans.  

*  *  *

A teacher asked her students to use the word “beans” in a sentence.
“My father grows beans,” said one student.
“My father cooks beans,” said another.
Then little Johnny stood up and shouted… “We are all human beans!!!”

*  *  *

Ingredients:
  • 1 can black beans
  • 1/2 diced tomato
  • 1 tsp. chopped garlic
  • 4 small pieces jalapeño peppers (these add a little bit of tang; add more as your taste buds desire)
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 3/4 tsp. taco seasoning
Assembly:
  1. Strain the beans and rinse with water to remove preservatives.
  2. Add all ingredients in a food processor and blend until smooth.
  3. Put mixture on skillet and cook on medium heat for about 3-5 minutes, continuously stirring.
Serving suggestions:
  • Use in burrito.
  • Use on nachos.
  • Use in seven layer dip.
  • Serve as a side dish.
PRITY IDEAS:
  • Top bowl of mashed beans with a piece of cilantro.

*  *  *

¡provecho!
Pri

*  *  *

step 2

step 2

post-step 2

step 3: yes, I realize this does not look very appetizing

step 3: but I promise it tastes DELICIOUS!

Leave a Reply

